NY winter weather advisory: Snow and sub-zero wind chills on Monday – Democrat & Chronicle

The first full week of spring is over but there is a winter storm warning and winter weather advisory in New York. Welcome to the unofficial win-spring. 
A winter weather advisory has been issued until 11 a.m. Monday by the National Weather Service in Buffalo for Monroe, Ontario, Orleans, Wayne, northern Cayuga and Oswego counties. The NWS says additional lake effect snow totals of 1 to 3 inches and wind gusts up to 35 mph will create blowing and drifting snow. 
Roads could be snow covered and slippery with reduced visibility for the Monday morning commute. 
The National Weather Service in Binghamton issued a similar winter weather advisory that called for 2 to 4 inches of snowfall in southern Cayuga, Onondaga, Madison and Cortland counties. Wind chills there may dip to minus-10 degrees.  
Rochester could see a temperature swing of more than 50 degrees in a three-day span. The Monday morning low was in the teens and the Thursday’s high is forecast to be 68 degrees. 
A winter storm warning is in effect for Wyoming, Chautauqua, Cattaraugus, and southern Erie counties. 
Here’s how many inches the National Weather Service is calling for as of Monday morning. 
Allegany County
Wellsville: Less than 1 to 2 
Broome County
Binghamton: 0-1
Cattaraugus County
Olean: 2-4
Cayuga County
Auburn: 2-4
Chautauqua County
Jamestown: 4-7
Cayuga County
Fair Haven: 2-4
Chemung County
Elmira: 0 to less than 1 
Cortland County
Cortland: 2-3
Erie County
Buffalo: 0-1
Genesee County
Batavia: 2-3
Herkimer County
Ilion: Less than 1 to 2 
Jefferson County
Watertown: Less than 1 to 2 
Livingston County
Dansville: Less than 1 to 2 
Madison County
Cazenovia: 4-6
Monroe County
Rochester: 3-4
Niagara County
Lockport: Less than 1 to 2 
Oneida County
Utica: Less than 1 to 2 
Onondaga County
Syracuse: 2-4
Ontario County
Canandaigua: 2-4
Orleans County
Albion: 2-4
Oswego County
Oswego: Less than 1 to 2 
Seneca County
Seneca Falls: 2-3
Steuben County
Corning: 0 to less than 1 
Hornell: Less than 1 to 1
Tompkins County
Ithaca: Less than 1 to 1  
Wayne County
Newark: 4-5
Wyoming County
Warsaw: Less than 1 to 2 
Yates County
Penn Yan: Less than 1 to 2 


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: